Skip to main content

When was Curtin established?

The Western Australian Institute of Technology (WAIT) officially opened as a technical education institute on 17 August 1966 on the Bentley Campus site. Over the next 10 years student numbers grew from 2,000 to 10,000. Throughout the 70s and 80s, WAIT became known as one of the most innovative Colleges of Advanced Education in Australia.

In January 1987, WAIT was reborn as Curtin University of Technology, taking its name from the influential and widely-revered former Prime Minister of Australia John Curtin. The 1990s saw rapid growth and a movement from primarily undergraduate degrees, to offering awards across the spectrum to doctoral level. Rebranded as Curtin University, the new millennium has seen the establishment of international campuses, extensive partnerships and collaborations with industry and government, modernising of teaching facilities and tuition, and always staying true to the writings of John Curtin, to “Look ever forward”.

For more information, please visit our Curtin History page.

Is this answer helpful?
Updated 08/11/2018 02.10 PM

Are you receiving our latest info?

Want to know more about our new courses, career possibilities and the best ways to manage your time?

Keep in touch to receive fresh ideas, tips and resources and be the first to hear about upcoming events.

Find out more keyboard_arrow_right